When Worlds Collide: Nukes vs. Climate

By Kelly Rigg, Huffpost:

I’m notoriously bad at remembering jokes, but the reaction to last week’s announcement that Japan would phase-out nuclear power by 2040 reminded me of this one:

Three guys are stranded on a deserted island. They’ve been there for years; their clothes are shredded and hanging from their emaciated bodies. One day a bottle washes ashore, and out comes a genie offering three wishes. The first guy says, “I wish I were back at home, feasting and drinking to my heart’s content,” and poof! He disappears. The second one says, “I wish I were back at home in bed with a beautiful woman,” and poof! He disappears too. The third guy looks around and says, “Gee, it’s lonely here without those other guys — I wish they’d come back…”

What does this have to do with Japan’s announcement? Unfortunately, the nuclear phase-out was unnecessarily coupled with a lowering of its climate ambition. Japan had a conditional plan to decrease CO2 emissions by 25 percent from 1990 levels by 2020, but is now looking at only a 5-9 percent reduction commitment… Read more

Leave a Reply

