Making Your Old House Green

By Greener Ideas:

If you are like me, you have been looking for ways to reduce your utilities costs without compromising your quality of life. I decided the best way to save money on my energy bills was to turn my old house into an updated houses with green appliances. Whether you are trying to save money on electric costs or you are trying to reduce your carbon footprint, there are a number of different ways that you can “go green” in the home. Here are some tips on what you can do to increase the value of your home while you reduce your consumption.

Replace That Old Refrigerator

One of the first things I did was throw away my old refrigerator that looked like it came straight from a movie from the 80′s. Not only was the refrigerator hideous, I could also hear is sucking up electricity during all hours of the day and night. When you are buying a new refrigerator, you need to make sure that you take time do your research. I chose an ENERGY STAR qualified unit that was rated as 20 percent more efficient than non-compliant models. Not only are my bills lower, now my food stays fresher for longer… Read more

Leave a Reply

